Executive Director Harlon Hutcheson

Harlon began his fire service career as a firefighter with the Russellville Fire Dept. in 1973. He was promoted in 1975 to Lieutenant, then in 1977 he became chief of the department. Harlon served various positions within the AAFC, including a term as president in 1999. After retirement from Russellville Fire Dept. in 2002, Harlon became the second Executive Director of the AAFC. 

  Harlon Hutcheson
  Executive Director
  151 Hutcheson Dr.
  Phil Campbell, Al. 35581
  205-993-4290 (Office) 256-627-6382 (Cell)

Executive Board


Chief Steve Carroll
Gadsden Fire Dept.
322 Walnut St.
Gadsden, Al. 35901

256-549-4566 Office
267-441-6082 Cell
[email protected]



Chief Gene Necklaus
Scottsboro Fire & Rescue
202 West Appletree St.
Scottsboro, Al. 35768

256-574-2617 Office
267-599-4772 Cell

[email protected]


2nd Vice-President

Chief Sean Kendrick
Calera Fire & Resccue
7901 Hwy 31
Calera, Al. 35040

205-229-7115 Work
205 Cell
[email protected]



Chief Jon Lord
Rocky Ridge Fire Dept.
2911 Metropolitan Way
Birmingham, Al. 35243

(205) 822-0532 (Office)
(205) 978-9876 (Fax)
[email protected]

Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs
Alabama Director

Chief A.J. Martin
Tuscaloosa Fire & Rescue
2201 University Blvd.
Tuscaloosa, Al. 35401

205-248-5420 (Office)
[email protected]

CAFCA Representative

Chief Tim Shotts
Trusselville Fire & Rescue
521 Cherokee Dr.
Trussville, Al. 35173
205-661-4033 Office
205-288-3638 Cell
[email protected]


NAFCA Representative

Chief Wade Buckner
Jacksonville Fire Dept.
506 Chinabee Ave. SE
Jacksonville, Al. 36265

(256) 435-2310 (Office)
256-691-1435 Cell
[email protected]

SEAAFC Representative

Michael Whaley
Assistant Chief Prattville Fire

334-595-0300 Office

SWAAFC Representative

Keith Martin
Gulf Shores Fire Department

251-986-1168 Work
251-269-7362 Cell
[email protected]



Chief Arthur Willis
Oneonta Fire Department
308 Second Stree N
Oneonta, Al. 35121

205-274-2752 Office
205-353-4917 Cell

[email protected]